New Mexico
Environment Department

Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)

About NMED



Our mission is to protect and restore the environment and to foster a healthy and prosperous New Mexico for present and future generations. We implement our mission guided by four tenets: 


Using the best available science to inform our decision-making in protecting public health and the environment.


Employing creative engineering and technological solutions to address environmental challenges. 


Engaging communities and interested stakeholders in environmental decision-making outcomes.  


Ensuring meaningful compliance with state regulations and permits; leveling the playing field through enforcement.


The department is organized into the Secretary’s and General Counsel’s offices, Divisions, Bureaus, Programs, field offices, boards, councils, and commissions.

District Map      Contact Sheet       Organizational Charts


The New Mexico Environment Department was created by the 40th state Legislature in 1991 under the “Department of Environment Act” (Chapter 25). As a regulatory agency, NMED enforces various state regulations and federal laws relating to protection of the environment, resources, and public health and safety.


2021 Employee Engagement Survey

2020 Employee Engagement Survey


James C. Kenney

Cabinet Secretary


Rebecca Roose

Deputy Cabinet Secretary of Administration


Stephanie Stringer

Deputy Cabinet Secretary of Operations


Bruce Baizel

General Counsel


Sandra Ely

Environmental Protection Division Director


Maddy Hayden

Director of Communications


Justin Garoutte

Director, Office of Strategic Initiatives


Danielle Gilliam

Administrative Services Division Director