New Mexico
Environment Department

Contact Information:
(505) 827-2855 MAIN // 1-800-219-6157 (toll free)
Environmental Emergencies:
505-827-9329 (24 hrs)

Environmental Improvement

EIB Members

The Environmental Improvement Board (EIB) consist of seven members appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the State Senate. The members of the board are appointed for overlapping terms, with no term exceeding five years. No more than four members are appointed from any one political party. At least a majority of the membership of the board are individuals who represent the public interest and do not derive any significant portion of their income from persons subject to or who appear before the board on issues related to the federal Clean Air Act or the Air Quality Control Act [74-2-1 NMSA 1978]. Any vacancy occurring in the membership of the board will be filled by appointment by the governor for the unexpired term.


Current Board

J. Barry Bitzer

  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Corrales 
Karl Cates

  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Santa Fe
Dr. Benjamin Duval

  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Socorro
Karen Garcia

  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Santa Fe
Phoebe Suina

  • Chair
  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Bernalillo
Amanda Trujillo Davis

  • Vice-Chair
  • Designated 08/30/2019
  • Carlsbad
William Honker

  • Designated 02/17/2021
  • Placitas
Karla Soloria

  • Commission Counsel
  • Assistant to the Attorney General
  • Santa Fe